Homeport Employee Profile: Isabel Giles

Title: Loan Program Manager

Responsibilities: Processing homebuyer downpayment assistance applications; Credit and budget counseling; Homebuyer education; Foreclosure prevention counseling.

What do you like most about the organization?

I like to be part of an organization that strongly supports and works towards providing affordable housing for low income families. It feels good when I see how my co-workers talk about the organization and how caring and devoted they are to Homeport’s mission. Homeport is a family-focused organization. It cares, supports and values its employees. It empowers us by encouraging us to express our ideas on how to improve our programs.

What have you done in your career that you are most proud of, or that people may not be aware of?

I came to the United States 19 years ago from Maracaibo, Venezuela. I’m a Civil Engineer with a Master’s degree in Urban Transport Planning. At the time my family moved to Ohio, I had 18 years of experience in transportation planning. But I was unable to gain work in my chosen field because I did not speak or comprehend English very well. I worked other types of jobs, but none satisfied my own professional expectation. That changed eight years ago when I learned about Homeport. I was dazzled by the mission and the true caring of the people. I decided that I wanted to learn all I needed to know and more, to be part of this team. It hasn’t been easy. It never is when one cares about what you do and how your work affects others. Nevertheless, I can say that I am proud to be part of this wonderful team, proud of what I do here and proud that I have been able to overcome many obstacles in my personal and professional life. Today, I enjoy helping people in my native Spanish language and my second language of English.

What people may not know about me is that I am one of 12 brothers and sisters. In addition to my husband, son and two grandchildren, I have 36 nieces and nephews.

Favorite things you do outside of work?

I am a family oriented person. I love to spend my free time with my family and friends. They say that I’m a great cook, and that’s good -- because I love to cook. Foods I prepare best are Paella, Empanadas, and, at Christmas season, Hallacas.