Homeport Employee Profile: Maggie Wilson

Maggie Wilson

Maggie Wilson

Title: Service Coordinator

Responsibilities: It’s different every day!  I help residents with all types of needs – financial assistance if they are in a crisis, referring them for employment opportunities, or assisting them in applying for benefits. Resident Services is also working with Columbus Public Health to provide free car seats to residents of Homeport communities as well as free Pack ‘n Play cribs for new moms through the Cribs for Kids program combating infant mortality.  Homeport has recently linked with OhioHealth to bring free breast cancer screenings to our communities. We are hopeful of building on all these partnerships to promote health and safety for individuals and families.    

What do I like most about the organization?

I love working in a supportive, encouraging environment. Homeport has some incredible employees who give their best every day to make a difference, which is inspiring and motivating. I am granted a lot of freedom in my position, to be creative in finding ways to meet resident needs. It makes every day exciting and different.  I enjoy meeting residents, hearing their stories and, hopefully, being a positive part of their day.

What have you done in your career you are most proud of, or that people may not be aware of? 

For two years, I was a child protective services caseworker in Franklin County. I met and worked with a ton of amazing families who overcame challenges that I wouldn’t dream of facing. It was incredibly inspiring seeing these individuals progress. Although it was an emotionally tough job, it was motivating to be able to reunite families and find safe, permanent homes for children.    

Favorite things I do outside of work?

Maggie and Colbie on an outing.

Maggie and Colbie on an outing.

I love being outside, especially hiking and kayaking. I co-parent a 4-year-old Border Collie named Colbie and we love going to the park and on walks. I also spend a lot of time in the gym spinning, boxing or doing barbell classes. I’m happiest when I’m active. I also love to read novels (Jodi Picoult), travel (been to Africa; Ireland next), attend country music concerts and watch NCAA basketball. Go Villanova!  

Personal Heroes?

My older brother is one of my heroes. He had this amazing spirit and an incredible ability to make people feel loved and important.  Although he faced his own challenges, he always made time to ensure that everyone else was okay and was fiercely loyal to his loved ones. 

What do I like about Central Ohio?

I’m a “Mama’s girl.” I grew up in Columbus, but needed a new adventure, so I went to college in Philadelphia where I graduated with a Psychology degree from Villanova University.  Although I loved Philly, I needed to be closer to my family so I moved back right after I graduated.  Columbus is home.  I love that Columbus always has fun events, concerts, and festivals to attend and loads of great restaurants to try.