Homeport Employee Profile: Sherri Clark

Sherri Clark

Sherri Clark

Title: Staff Accountant II

Responsibilities: I am part of the Homeport’s Finance team with my primary responsibility being Grant Accounting.  I work in close collaboration with our program directors and philanthropy.   I am responsible for maintaining financial, accounting and grant support in order to meet the needs of the organization and the donor.  I focus heavily on budget and expense analysis, periodic invoicing, labor distribution and allocations, and grant compliance administration.  You can wear many “hats” in the Finance department! In addition to grant accounting, I administer the payroll, support HR, maintain financial schedules and prepare general ledger entries to assist with the monthly financial closings and audits.  

What do I like most about the organization?

Well, first and foremost, I would say I was attracted to the company’s overall reputation, its commitment to Central Ohio.  Not only does Homeport develop and construct rental housing and for-sale affordable single-family homes, it has transformed neglected Columbus neighborhoods.  AND it does not stop there. Homeport goes the extra mile providing resources for the residents to succeed.  Although I do not work directly with the residents, it’s inspiring to support and to be a member of this close-knit, highly valued passionate team.

What have you done in your career you are most proud of, or that people may not be aware of? 

Born and raised on the Jersey Shore in southern New Jersey, I have worked in financial application for most of my career.  I’ve been the executive assistant to the VP of Finance at a casino, managed properties in both New Jersey and Tennessee and been a senior accountant for an international avionics manufacturer.  In 2009, when the bottom dropped out of the economy, I started day trading stocks to subsidize my income.  Watching the fluctuations in trends, volume, futures and waiting for the “bell” to ring every morning was exhilarating. For fun, I have played the piano and violin.

Favorite things I do outside of work?

Sherri visiting Venice in 2017

Sherri visiting Venice in 2017

I am the oldest of five siblings and often visit my family in Tennessee -- where stories of growing up in New Jersey never get old.  I love traveling and my last great adventure was Italy.  It was absolutely wonderful seeing historic Rome, the countryside of Tuscany and the magic of Venice. When I’m at home I like to take my pup to the dog park, garden and do household projects.  I also enjoy day trips to the Amish Country and Hocking Hills.

 

Personal Heroes?

I can't say I have only one person that I consider a hero because so many have impacted my life.  Those that come to mind quickly are my grandparents, who spoiled me rotten, nurtured me and instilled how important it is to value family.  My step father, who cared for me like his own, is a true God-fearing man.  Every morning he would wake us up with, "Rise & Shine, give God the glory!" He and my mother raised all 5 of us to work hard, respect each other, serve willingly and to share a smile along life's way.  

What do I like about Central Ohio?  

Circumstance brought me to Columbus in the year 2000 and I ended up staying and raising my three kids here. Today I spend a lot of time with them and their four children, enjoying anything and everything from baseball games to miniature golf to fairs.  I like that I can get downtown, within 15 minutes to see a performance at the Ohio Theater, go to a Blue Jackets game or walk the cobblestone streets of German Village. There is something for everyone. And relatively speaking, it is an area easy to get around.