Homeport Employee Profile: Kyrie Dull

Kyrie Dull

Kyrie Dull

Title: Service Coordinator

Responsibilities: As a service coordinator my job duties revolve around providing resources and referrals to the people that live in Homeport housing. I connect my clients to furniture, food, clothing, cribs, educational programs, and more. The Resident Services team also assists Homeport residents in applying for social services, scholarships, and emergency financial assistance. I get to organize events in a few of the properties every year to engage with the communities we serve. One of my favorite responsibilities is as a task instructor for Homeport’s student interns from Ohio State University's Social Work College, an internship I had in the 2017-2018 school year. The Homeport Resident Services team gets to be a part of shaping the next generation of social workers that will educate, empower, and help some of the most vulnerable populations in the world.

What do I like most about the organization?

Kyrie Dull, interned at Homeport in 2017-2018 and with fellow OSU students organized the first annual ‘Senior Prom’ for Homeport senior citizens.

Homeport is constantly evaluating if the organization is fulfilling its mission. We look at quantitative and qualitative data to make sure the organization is being efficient and effective in reaching our goals. There is high value in continuing education and training to perform the best that we can and to impact our communities with innovative and research-supported methods.

What have I done in my life that I am most proud of, that people may not be aware of?

I was asked to act out a story in a short video of a woman who is a victim of sex trafficking. This woman is rescued and has the opportunity to live in a safe house provided and operated by a real organization in Columbus called Out of Darkness. I was honored and moved by this experience in which I attempted to tell the story that many people convince themselves is fiction. If you want to get involved with Out of Darkness, click here.

Favorite things I do outside of work?

I love to practice yoga! All kinds! I really love hanging out with my friends. We go to movies, go out to eat, and have board game nights. In the summer I play sand volleyball and occasionally kickball. I love visiting cozy little coffee shops. I also love making my roommate jealous because her cat likes me more than her 😊.

Personal Heroes?

My friend Seth. A few years ago, I was going through a difficult time. Seth met me then and encouraged me to step outside of what was then my comfort zone. He challenged me. He saw something in me that I could not see myself and connected me to people and ideas that would help me grow and be fulfilled for years to come. Seth pointed to Christ and I looked.

What do I like about Central Ohio?

There is always something new to discover, and there is usually something for everyone! You want to learn Acroyoga? It’s here. You want to go to a shooting range? There’s one nearby. You want to see a celebrity singer? They will be here soon. You want to rent a jetski? What time?